Crestwood Boys Lacrosse Captures District 2 Title

Crestwood won the District 2 boys lacrosse championship with a thrilling double OT victory on May 24 over host Wyoming Seminary by a score of 11-10. This is the Comets’ second District title in three years.

Crestwood was led in scoring by Zachary Anderson with four goals followed by Anthony Caporuscio with three goals and an assist.

Matt Tirpak finished with two goals while Wyatt Malia and Kyle Richards each had a goal and an assist. Patrick Colo and Thomas Kulak were credited with an assist apiece.

In the semifinals against Wyoming Area on May 22, Crestwood cruised to a 13-6 win.

Malia and Richards paced the Comets in scoring with three goals each. Tirpak and Caporuscio each scored two goals and three assists while Owen Grigas had one goal and an assist. Colo and Kulak also tallied goals for the winners. Samuel Majdic recorded an assist.

Reed Karaska was stellar in goal

with 10 saves for the Comets. Several Crestwood lacrosse team

players have been named 2017 Wyoming Valley Lacrosse League Boys All Stars.

Named to the 1st Team are Comets Anthony Caporuscio, attack; and Kyle Richards, D-Midfield.

Lance Blass, D-Midfield; and Reed Karaska, Goalie, were named to the 2nd Team.

Wyatt Malia, Attack; Zach Anderson, Attack; Andrew Lehman, Defense; and Justin Whetstone, Defense; received Honorable Mention honors.

The Crestwood team is coached by Brian Labroski.

+++++ In girls lacrosse, Crestwood fell to

Lake-Lehman, 11-8, in the District 2 Class 2 A semifinals on May 22.

Natasha Koslop scored five goals for the Lady Comets.