Iorio Appointed Chair Of Fairview Board Of Supervisors

The Fairview Township Board of Supervisors held its annual reorganization meeting Jan. 2 with most appointments filled by incumbents.

A newcomer joined the board, however, as Fred Rose, who was elected supervisor in the November election, was welcomed by fellow supervisors Michael Iorio and Robert Orloski.

Iorio was appointed chairman of the board and Orloski was nominated as vice chairman. Barbara Wasiakowski was reappointed as secretary/treasurer for the township, to earn an hourly rate of $20.18. Lisa Ayers was reappointed as recording secretary to the board of supervisors and the planning commission at a rate of $55 per meeting. Donald Karpowich was renamed as township solicitor, earning $100 per hour.

Former Supervisor Russ Marhold was renamed roadmaster, for a one-year term, and will earn $300 a month. Once again, James Pawloski will serve as road foreman, earning $24.13 an hour, and Thomas Kline and Timothy McGinnis will continue as road workers, earning the hourly rate of $22.98 and $20.07 respectively. Edward Mack, part-time road worker and COG worker, will earn $15.25.

Phillip Holbrook was reappointed as Fairview Township’s police chief, to be compensated per his contract along with an extra $100 per month retroactive to Dec. 1, 2017. The following full-time officers were also appointed –Sergeant Monk and Officers Wadzin, Stahley, Benson, and DeLuca –and they will be compensated per the police contract and receive all fringe benefits as negotiated in the current police contract. Full-time officers are required to contribute to the Police Pension Fund for 2018 at the rate of 5 percent and all part-time officers will be compensated at an hourly rate of $17 per hour and receive all fringe benefits outlined in the police contract.

John Doddo was once again appointed as the township’s zoning officer, road cut permit officer, administrator to the planning commission, and code enforcement officer, to be compensated at a salary of $700 per month for the first 20 hours, and $25 per hour for work in excess of 20 hours, plus mileage and expenses. Code Inspections Inc. was appointed as the township’s third-party building inspector.

Borton Lawson was made township engineering firm for 2018 with A & E Group to serve as alternate engineer. Attorney Robert Gonos was reappointed as solicitor to the zoning board and April Jacobson was reappointed to a five-year term on the board. Steven M. Egenski was appointed as sewage enforcement officer, to be compensated per permit.

Phillip Holbrook and Robert Orloski were appointed as Fairview Township representatives to the Mountain Top Regional Police Commission and Michael Iorio was named alternative representative for 2018.

Fred Rose was made chairman of the township’s parks and recreation committee; Francis Aigeldinger was appointed chairman of the vacancy board; and William Evans, Pam Heard, John Price, and Barbara Wasiakowski were appointed to the parks and recreation committee.

A motion was made that the Board of Supervisors, its secretary/treasurer, roadmaster, and zoning officer may attend the annual supervisors’ state convention and that Barbara Wasiakowski be the voting delegate.

Michael Herron and Peter Kohl of the Mountaintop Hose Company No. 1, Wade Kahley of the Mountain Top Ambulance Association, Phillip Holbrook of the Fairview Police, and the township’s supervisors were all appointed to the Fairview Township Emergency Evacuation Board.

Berkheimer was appointed as the township’s LST tax collector and earned income tax collector for 2018. The tax collector’s commission was set at 2 percent during rebate and 5 percent during face and penalty periods.

The board of supervisors will hold its meetings on the first Tuesday of each month, at 7:30 p. m., and will hold work sessions on the last Monday of each month, at 6 p. m., at the municipal building. The township’s planning commission will meet on the third Wednesday of each month, at 7:30 p. m.